Latin American Agreement Psc


Latin American Agreement PSC: An Overview

Latin America is a region that consists of 20 countries, each with its own distinct culture and economic policies. In order to promote regional integration and economic growth, several countries in Latin America have entered into an agreement called the Latin American Agreement PSC.

What is the Latin American Agreement PSC?

The Latin American Agreement PSC stands for the Latin American Agreement on Social Security Coordination. It is a treaty signed by several Latin American countries that aims to coordinate social security systems in the region.

The agreement was signed in 1974, and currently includes 11 countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, and Mexico (which joined in 2012).

What does the Latin American Agreement PSC cover?

The Latin American Agreement PSC covers a range of social security benefits, including retirement, disability, survivor, and health care benefits. The purpose of the agreement is to allow workers who have contributed to social security in one country to receive benefits in another country, and to avoid double taxation for these benefits.

Under the agreement, a person who has worked in two or more Latin American countries can apply for benefits in any of those countries, and the benefits will be calculated based on the contributions made in each country. The agreement also allows for the transfer of retirement benefits, so that a person can receive benefits in the country where they choose to retire.

How does the Latin American Agreement PSC benefit workers?

The Latin American Agreement PSC provides several benefits for workers. First, it allows workers to move freely between participating countries without losing their social security benefits. This is particularly beneficial for workers in industries that require frequent travel or relocation.

Additionally, the agreement helps to ensure that workers receive the full benefits to which they are entitled, regardless of which country they choose to retire in. This can be particularly important for workers who have worked in several countries throughout their careers.

Finally, the agreement helps to reduce administrative barriers for workers, as they can apply for benefits in any participating country and have their benefits calculated based on contributions made in all participating countries.


The Latin American Agreement PSC is an important treaty that promotes regional integration and economic growth in Latin America. By allowing workers to receive social security benefits in any participating country, the agreement provides important benefits for workers, while also helping to ensure that they receive the full benefits to which they are entitled. As such, the agreement is an important tool for promoting economic stability and social welfare in the region.

You May Also Like

Worldwide Agreements

Worldwide Agreements: Understanding the Significance and Impact In today`s interconnected world, international agreements have become crucial in shaping global policies and promoting cooperation among countries. These agreements facilitate cooperation, promote…
View Post